Philip Tetlock

Philip Tetlock

Formal First Name
3/2/1954 - present

Philip Tetlock is a distinguished political science writer who is now focused on forecasting tournaments that have been sponsored by the U.S. government and have been running since 2011. He has published roughly 200 articles in peer-refereed journals and edited or written 10 books. Tetlock’s research programs have explored a variety of topics, including the challenges of assessing "good judgment" in both laboratory and real-world settings and the criteria that social scientists use in judging judgment and drawing normative conclusions about bias and error.

Professional Experience

Academic History

Awards and Honors

Philip Converse Book Award for outstanding Book in the field published five or more years ago, 2011, American Political Science Association (for co-authored Book, Reasoning and choice: Explorations in political psychology, 1992)

Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2009

Harold Lasswell Award for Distinguished Scientific Contribution in the Field of Political Psychology, 2008, International Society of Political Psychology

Grawemeyer World Order Prize, 2007

Woodrow Wilson Award for best book published on government, politics, or international affairs, 2006, American Political Science Association (for soloauthored Expert political judgment: How good is it? How can we know?)

Robert E. Lane Award for best book in political psychology, American Political Science Association, 2006 (for solo-authored Expert political judgment: How good is it? How can we know?)

National Academy of Sciences Award for Behavioral Research Relevant to the Prevention of war, 1999

Nevitt Sanford Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Political Psychology, International Society of Political Psychology, 1997

Woodrow Wilson Book Award, American Political Science Association (co-recipient with P. Sniderman & R. Brody, for Reasoning and choice: Explorations in political psychology), 1992

American Association for the Advancement of Science Prize for Behavioral Science Research, 1988

MacArthur Fellow in International Security and Conflict Resolution, 1987-1989; 1999-2001

Fellow of Division 8 of the American Psychological Association, 1987

Erik H. Erikson Award of the International Society of Political Psychology, 1987

Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, 1987

Distinguished Scientific Award for Early Career Contribution to Social Psychology,

American Psychological Association, 1986

Canada Council Doctoral Fellowship, 1977-1979

Yale University Fellowship, 1976-1977

Governor-General’s Gold Medal, Award for Undergraduate Academic Excellence, 1975

British Columbia Psychological Association Gold Medal, 1975