University of Minnesota

Entity Type
Founding Date

Founded in 1851, The University of Minnesota is the second largest institution of higher education in the Midwest of the US in terms of enrolment. It is a public research university owned by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, a Midwest membership group of higher education institutions. Notable University of Minnesota alumni include eight Nobel Prize laureates, two Pulitzer Prize winners, and two vice-presidents of the United States — Hubert Humphrey and Walter Mondale.