University of Exeter

Entity Type
Founding Date

The University of Exeter is a leading, public research university and a member of the prestigious Russell Group, which combines world leading research with high levels of student satisfaction. Home to world-leading academics including the UK’s 5 most influential climate scientists, Exeter strives to use the power of education and research to create a sustainable, healthy, and socially just future. It offers a wide range of subject areas in a welcoming and international environment, with over 25,000 students from 130 countries and over 125,000 alumni in 183 countries. The University of Exeter was awarded gold in the first Teaching Excellence Framework in recognition of the high quality of its teaching.


  • Exeter has 98% of its research rated as international quality in the most recent research Excellence Framework.

  • The University is spread across four campuses: Streatham and St Luke’s in Exeter, and Penryn and Truro in Cornwall.

  • The University has 6 academic colleges that offer study opportunities at undergrad, masters and research level in a wide range of subjects across science, humanities and social science,.