University of Zurich

Entity Type
Founding Date

The University of Zurich was the first university in Europe to be established by a democratic government rather than a monarch or the church. Now the largest university in Switzerland, it is home to 26,000 students and comprises seven faculties offering over 100 degree programs at undergraduate and postgraduate level. UZH is a member of the League of European Research Universities, placing it among Europe’s most prestigious research institutions. The institution has a long tradition of forward-thinking and progressive policies. It was an early pioneer for women’s rights in education.

It also boasts associations with 12 Nobel Laureates, including Albert Einstein and Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who first detected X-rays.