University of Alberta

Entity Type
Founding Date

The University of Alberta is one of country’s top teaching and research universities. It is an international reputation for excellence across the humanities, sciences, creative arts, business, engineering, and health sciences. It offers close to 400 rigorous undergraduate, graduate, and professional programs in 18 faculties on five campuses. The U of A is the only one in Canada to offer programs in native studies, through which students can learn about the aboriginal experience.

  • The university has an annual budget of $1.7 billion and attracts nearly $450 million in sponsored research revenue. 
  • Its main campus spans about 50 blocks of the city, and the university comprises a total of 150 buildings spread over four campuses.
  • In keeping with Edmonton’s French-speaking community, the university offers French instruction at the Faculté Saint-Jean.
  • It is also well known for its paleontology research and its faculty includes world-famous dinosaur experts.
  • Alberta has produced one Nobel Laureate, four justices of the supreme court of Canada, including a chief justice, and housed 68 Rhodes Scholars, the highest number in Canada.