University of Wales

Entity Type
Founding Date

Founded in 1893, The University of Wales is a confederal, non-membership university known as the first and oldest university in Wales, and the second largest university in the United Kingdom. In 2007, the University of Wales changed from a federal structure to a confederal one and many of the constituent colleges became independent universities. Following a number of controversies in the late 2000s involving overseas affiliates and student visas, a decision was made to abolish the university as it then existed. From August 2017 it has been functionally integrated with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. Over the years the University has adapted in order to be in a position to respond to the needs of students, both in Wales and further afield.